Flock and Photobucket

I had tried out the first version of the Flock “social” browser as a another possible way to make posting to my blogs a bit more convenient and of course to give myself just another way to experiment with blogging altogether but gave it up to wait for a more developed version and here it is.

The fact that it hasn’t crashed in the last hour is the first plus.

I downloaded this particular version (.7) from Photobucket where I store my images to use with the Performancing blog editor extension for Firefox which is the one I use most of the time and since Flock is based on the Firefox browser and this version has been written to specifically work with PhotoBucket (and Flickr I believe) I just had to give it a try.

It took no time at all to set up my WordPress account Just Thinkin and my PhotoBucket account and when all was ready I dragged the IE-eating Firefox logo off my hard drive and plopped onto the editor, the photo uploader window came up and with a couple of mouse clicks from me, uploaded the photo to PhotoBucket and a few seconds later it appeared in the editor. The whole process took about 30 seconds which includes me hunting around my desktop for the little fox image.

Now I’ve actually only been playing around with Flock for the last 45 minutes so I have a lot to learn yet for instance: How to download my existing posts so I can bring them up for a possible edit or how to delete an existing post using Flock but all in good time.

Oh… and memory use is much improved also. The browser’s been up about one hour now and the editor for about 30 minutes and I’m pushing around 52 megs usage which is similar to what I see for Firefox 1.5.04 (I currently use Firefox 2 beta 1 as my main browser which uses even less memory in the long run).

So far I like what I see.

Whether I continue to use Flock or not remains to be seen. I have no problem admitting to the fact that I’m an older guy (gonna see fifty all too soon) and the virtual “social” scene is still a little stand offish to me plus the fact that they all seem to be 20 to 30 years younger than I am (Horrors!) and I especially need to know that I can control all these interacting accounts to my satisfaction.

Older computer techs like myself tend to be a bit more paranoid when it comes to privacy than the younger set who mostly grew up with computers and the even youger ones who (almost) are growing older with “social” type networks and such. People like me however, got our knocks during the “bad old days” of the PC (and later with a brand new thing called the “World Wide Web”) and we definately did not grow up with computers. In fact, I was 26 when the first PC from IBM hit the streets and it was another 8 years until I bought my first one (Windows 3.1 and DOS 6.0). 3 years later I hooked my first dial-up account (with a whoppin’ 9600 baud modem) and I have been off and running ever since.

It’s a lot of fun so far and it’s been quite a long time since the world of the PC and the Internet has offered up anything that peaked my interest and nowadays it’s a veritable playground and Flock is yet another part of it.

Hmmm, inline spell checking would be a nice touch but all in good time.

Wonder what the next ten years will bring?

technorati tags:, , , ,

Blogged with Flock

Leave a Reply

